Crosstown train to you

In an attempt to do something more successful in terms of being a "good" Colleen, I think perhaps I made a huge step for mankind. In this, I mean that I jumped a thick puddle and made an adult decision.

While not all adult decisions should get special notice or priority, I must commend myself for doing something I would not have done in, oh let's say 2002, when things were so self-destructively bad, I just let myself get kicked around and around and around. (And no, loyal readers, I am [for once] not talking about alcohol).

I have been a part of a triumvirate, a menage � trois, a bermuda triangle, a piece of a three part puzzle, and last night I gave up on being weird, anxious, awkward, and submissive. I gave up on waiting for something to be handed to me, something easy to come this way, and I made it easier. Because while things are hard for "all involved," I'm not sure if it is readily available to "all" that things are hard for me. Enough with foolishness and mediocrity, these are no longer terms I can subscribe to and pick up in my mailbox monthly. Enough with being placed second, always second, for no other reason than my own lingering self-doubt. Enough with postponing reward and self-assurance because I like to spare other people's feelings. And it was switched off with one action.

If there is a lesson to be learned, it is that it is always better to do the right thing. Spike Lee was a genius.

2005-09-20 | 1:04 a.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people