Magical Mystery Tour

Yesterday was one of the more surreal days in the history of Colleen. The day began at 10am, when I got to work, but really picked up when I said I had to go to the dentist at 3pm.
That was a bold-faced lie.
At 3pm, I tore down the stairs to the subway, hopped on an uptown train and hopped off at 49th St. Where was I going, you ask? Well, I'll tell you. I was going to...
the Carson Daly Show. Embarrassingly enough, this is true.
So Fischerspooner was on the Carson Daly show, and I thought I'd throw my support their way. This entailed being present for the entire thing. Turns out, being present for the filming of a TV show is like pulling the curtain back on the "wizard." It's a sham! TV is one big horrible lie! There are studio managers and clapping and lights buzzing - I half expected Dick Clark to instruct me that it's the new year. And C.Daly is really, oddly tan and tall. And skinny, but he looks skinnier on TV (so the camera doesn't add ten pounds, it takes them away). In real life, he looks... pretty. He looks very pretty.
So Fischerspooner came on, and it was odd, and the whole experience made me think that life is stupid.
After something like that, one must go eat, and eat we did. Joe and I went to Mercury Bar somewhere in Hell's Kitchen, and then, things went... well - where do they always go, but just downhill. I said "au revoir" to Mr. Anonymous, and he didn't take it so well. I'm glossing over this - it was actually a saga best played out over text messages. Then I proceeded to pound beers until our $100 check came and we split for Soho.
In Soho, I took to the whiskey, the rain was coming down in sheets, and then I drank too much cough syrup again. I think we got home around 3am, and Joe supplied the necessary provisions: popcorn, Pringles, fudge-striped cookies, and pizza sticks. It was off the hook. God save me, I'm so tired today.

2005-06-07 | 10:24 a.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people