Fergie, Fergie

Ok, I am developing a theory on why my roommate and I hate Fergie from the Black Eyed Peas. I think it boils down to a couple of things, or rather, a few things. One - she is light-skinned. Therefore and thus, she is presenting beauty in a light-skinned fashion to a genre that has always challenged the system (although BEP has completely sold-out anyway, and the majority of their fans are probably "light-skinned" anyway), and she ain't challengin' nothin. But I mean, come ON. They couldn't have found a singer that wasn't a socially-deemed "hottie"? Whatever. (Flipside to this would be that she can't help what she is, etc. etc., but honestly, I like overanalyzing everything presented to us on TV). Two - she is one girl amongst a boy's club. There will forever be a stigma with a girl among a bunch of boys that can hold her own. Three - she was not an original member of the BEP, and then, she was just there. And they acted like - What? She's a member! She's always been here! What!?! Four - She wasn't the most sexual thing on the planet until recently - or, rather, specifically that video where she is shaking her skinny bootie, and her bandmates ogle her. Then she was just another stupid "video ho." Five - Now people ogle her. Six - (awww hell, "few" is turning into a list) She uber-trendy. It bug. Seven - I need to just get the shit over it. Who cares? She's well-spoken and is making it in a boy's game, right?

I digress. Last night was entertaining - Tristan played (mighty well) , my friend Will and I went, we met his papa, we ate Chinese food. I am a veritable nightmare with chopsticks, so I used a fork and felt inferior. I am still sick (hence, the entry from this morning).

Sure, make the jokes, but don't act like he didn't rock with you.

2005-06-03 | 12:15 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people