They Shoot Colleens, Don't They?

I just finished watching "They Shoot Horses, Don't They?" -- originally queued on my Netflix for the sole purpose of figuring out where/how Alexander McQueen derived inspiration for his Spring 2004 collection. In other words, McQueen loved it enough to devote an entire collection to it - I need to watch it. But after seeing it, I am struggling to put it into the context of everyday lives. Needless to say, Americans have it pretty easy now - sans starvation and dance marathons with heavy cash prizes. I wonder if they really did have marathons in which people danced for 50+ days... and if they shoot horses, does that mean that Gloria (Jane Fonda) was the pretty pony in Robert's life?
Argh - so many conflicting ideas in the brain right now...

2005-03-06 | 11:29 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people