Lesson in life here, people

I've joined Netflix, partially because I have no friends and partially because I want to be well-versed in movies rather than well-read. It's really because I have no friends and if Joe and I keep going out & dancing, we'll flunk out of school and be shipped back to Nuevo Mexico.

So, my latest acquisition was "Shampoo" - requested by me, so it's my fault - anyway, "Shampoo" stars Warren Beatty, Goldie Hawn, and Julie Christie. It seems as though it would be a winner - what with Goldie and Julie leading the cast. I'm quite fond of Julie Christie, although she is a poor man's Audrey Hepburn. I wonder if she ever heard that, late at night, navigating smokey bicentennial hallways, wondering why her hair was such an ashen shade of blonde, guzzling expensive vodka and wearing black lace... I wonder if someone ever said, "Yeah, I mean... it is Julie Christie, but she's no Audrey Hepburn. She's blonde for God's sake. And an ashy blonde at that." Oh well - still love her, still fabulous (except for "Afterglow" which was a piss-poor awful movie with Nick Nolte; although it did have Jonny Lee Miller, hottie pa-tottie slash lost-love-of-Angelina-Jolie), but "Shampoo" is an awful movie. I'm guessing by the description given by Netflix that it's a satire, a farce, a top-100 comedy about sex in the 70s but in all honesty, it just ain't got that sumpin-sumpin. It's missing it. Even Goldie's horrendously short minis cannot possibly bring this film back to life.

I did like her apartment though - something very whimsically 70s about it. (Goldie's that is) And Julie Christie's Halstonesque (I wonder if it was a Halston...) black sequined gown showed an irrefutably gorgeous backside.

More New York later, y'all. I guess I have to actually finish the movie. Sigh.

2004-09-12 | 12:19 a.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people