Afterglow

Ok - don't use the arrows over there (on the left)... they don't work. I don't know the code for it either, so unless you want to sign my guestbook, leave me a note, or email me what the html code is for the last entry, next entry stuff, yee shan't complain.

I realized that I didn't get to fully complain about the task I had to complete last week, and was subsequently slapped in the face with again today - but here it is. I had to call these people that had signed up for a massage workshop and ask them if they preferred their practice doll to be "Caucasian" or "African-American." Besides being horribly uncomfortable with this task, I was really disappointed in the people that demanded a Caucasian doll (how antiquated is that word, by the way), and then even further disappointed in the fact that if they stated they had no preference, the workshop director would order them a Cau- oh forget it - she'd order them a whitey doll.

I just don't see why there couldn't be a half and half order (13 of one, 13 of the other). But, as a pretty rough sketch of upper middle class society, some things just don't change. Is it racism? I don't even know anymore, but it is awkward to call people and get emails that blatantly say, "I want a Caucasian one." They're usually new moms that want their fake doll to look like their real one. Ugh.

2004-02-05 | 2:21 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people