It goes to show you never can tell

Schmeon and I watched a lengthy and full heaping dose of Gremlins last night, the first time for ol' Schmeedy, the 108th time for me. It was a nice experience - I realized that maybe small children shouldn't be exposed to green monsters killing nice Science teachers and maybe Phoebe Cates explaining that her father died in the chimney, pretending to be Santa, is a little morbid. "That was the year I found out Santa wasn't real." Jeeb.

So Friday night is still on. Schmeon, Westin, and I (along with the neighbors and their friends) decided to have future-theme party with headgear and maybe dress like your favorite Goonies character, but Shaba took a big fatty crap on our parade. He said no way, no how - so no fun party now. But it's still in effect. I'm trying to multiply the number of much-cooler people in ratio to those that might come that I don't want to come, yada yada yada... but in lieu of all this partying, I do have some ground rules for my behavior/the happenings of the night:

1. I am going to SIT DOWN FOR A WHILE, and drink martinis (looking futuristic anyway). This directly correlates with #5.

2. Shaba and Schmeon are in charge of the music. I am not in charge of the music - but I do get a couple of requests, which are as follows: no ghetto booty slammin' funky ass too-rowdy music. Thank you. Otherwise, I don't want to deal with it - it will not be my problem.

3. PEOPLE - YOU MUST BRING YOUR OWN LIQUOR, YOU ARE NOT BABIES, AND YOU ARE ALL (MOST) 21, OR CAN FIND A 21-YR. OLD TO BUY YOUR SHIT. This brings me to the next:

4. If someone is under 21, bitch be gettin' pushed out the motherfuckin' door when po-po's roll around. I do not need some sort of shitty citation, or a ticket of some sort. If a ticket is placed in my hot little hand, fools from the party will be paying for it. And if someone is too young and I don't know them - bitch be gettin' pushed out the... ok, you get the idea.

5. Throughout the ages of many, many parties - from Milan to Minsk - I have found myself flitting around like a foolish butterfly that was so inebriated, we're all surprised I've made it this far without love handles. Not this time, and nor will I run in platforms ever again - I have twisted the ankles at least 30 times. Anyway, I will be a decent and gracious (and stationary) host. That is strict when things go bad. And really strict when things go really bad. Not that I think things will go really bad, but just in case...

Now - if I come up with anything else, I'll be sure to keep it private and not post it on the internet, like I apparently have done so with the party. Hopefully things will go off nicely, not too large, and not too many bones will get broken.

As for mindless musings for the day - I hate the wind, I think I had a full conversation in my head while Shaba & I walked to school that had nothing to do with any sort of realistic event, I brought an old pita stuffed with turkey for lunch, and I hate my perfume (So de la Renta - unfortunately, I have this problem with using things up rather than getting rid of them. That ends today - I am so getting rid of So de la Renta). Kelly Ripa is back & I still like her, so don't get your white eyelet panties in a bunch, and Cirque de Soleil was on this morning. C'est la vie, said the old folks...

2003-04-22 | 11:58 a.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people