What's the point in wasting time?

Besides the fact that I have Broadcast's song "Come on, let's go" stuck in my head (no links today, kiddies - I'm on the ghetto home computer), I also have "kick out the jams" kind of floating through the ol' gray matter due to Mimi Smartypants' diary (AH HAAA! THERE WAS A LINK! I LIED! I LIED LIKE A DOG IN HEAT!).

So, we went and saw "Suspiria" last night at the Guild, a little bit drunk (a little bit rock n' roll), and I'll be goddamned if that movie didn't RULE THE CABANA! It has set a new precedence of B-movie - I loved it. It was weird, it was really weird, and then it was kinda artsy weird. All the women had the no-boob, there weren't any lesbian-tendencies (a usual for B-movie horror 1977 if you ask me), and there were shiny tack-nails driven through one girl's wrists & eyes. The ultimate mad witch queen was killed with a sprong from a peacock lamp! FOR THE SWEET LOVE OF MARY MAGDALEN, THE MOVIE ROCKED! The Big I crashed out - God only knows how with all the racket; Cokebomb alternated between scoffing, groaning, giggling, and nervousness (as did I!); SB (Southern Belle) was clasping her face in lack of delight. I think it might be the highlight of April. I have now decided to watch weird old horror movies from now on (sorry to any and all that will be subjected through my latest trend).

I had to give a presentation on this fine Saturday in my Museum Preservation class, which sucked a fatty boom-batty, but I got it over with, and that's all that counts. In unrelated news - on Valentine's Day, the Big I gave me an enlarged roll of Smarties (thought I was going to say colon, didn't you), and I think they were the best things I ever did see/eat. I want one right now... I wonder where he scored such a find. Such a find for the old bean!

I think it's time for new nicknames because some are outdated and one in particular is too lengthy. SOOOO, starting with the longest and proceeding in no particular order:

Joey Joe Junior Shabadoo = Shaba

Cokebomb = Cokebomb (for obvious reasons, this name rules)

The Big I = Schmeon

Eliza = Eliza (I cannot go back on this name either... obvious reasons)

Ludie = Ludie (remains as well)

Dammit! Shaba is reading the "Suspiria" review in the paper and I can't concentrate! (See! New nicknames!) If you wanted a new nickname and did not get one, please send a self-addressed, stamped envelope to Buena Vista Television.

Alas, time to buy smallish birthday presents and track down the big Smarties... Don't forget to drink yourself silly tonight - even if I ain't around!

2003-04-05 | 4:25 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people