Is there a boxcar outside waiting for you?

I always thought that the Pixies' "Here Comes Your Man" was about like, mugging down and cheating and getting caught by your man. Now, call me crazy - but I don't think that's what the song is about at all. What the hell is this song really about? I must be so far-removed from reality that I still... STILL have no idea what the hell the song is about - except for the boxcar, the waiting, the beard. See, I even had these gradiose visions of listening to the song at a party - or maybe, walking into the party while the song is on. Sure, I'm not a dude - and sure, I've waited so long, but the guitar is so catchy, so strutty - I want to strut into a party with it playing! Dammit! Is that too hard? Is that too much to ask? Anyway, the song is obviously not about 7 minutes in heaven, or spin the bottle, or whatever stupid idea I had in my head - I mean, I must have a brain in there somewhere... right? Right!?!

2003-01-29 | 3:46 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people