(Written on the inside of an Orbit gum pkg on the train this morning)

* Supergrass/Radiohead

* those convertible cargo pants

* Peeps that love Prince

Now, while I am pretty sure that I wrote these things to trigger my memory for a diary entry, I'm also at a loss at why I'm so goddamn nerdy. This is what happens when one is off the booze for more than 48 hours - one becomes self-obsessed, ridiculous, and ready to write about everything.

Supergrass/Radiohead
Did you all know that Radiohead vouched for Supergrass and threatened to leave Epic if they didn't put out Supergrass' last album? Am I horrendously underrating Supergrass? I mean, if Radiohead puts their shit on the line to get SG's next album made, it's got to be something I've been overlooking. While I am a deep and dedicated fan of the song "Moving," as it reminds me so, so, so much of London I want to cry a little, I had no idea that the rest of their albums were worth it. Like, Radiohead worth it.

those convertible cargo pants
Man, what a bust that idea was. The pants that magically unzip to reveal shorts! I thought of this because I saw a chap on the train wearing the short version of said-pants. I am actually a firm believer in not wearing cargo pants anyway, but this convertible crap that appeared on the market maybe three years ago (four?) was an absolute travesty to those of us who put a little effort into dressing. And I know boys don't often "care too much" etc., but NY boys do. And this boy must have been a tourist.

Peeps that love Prince
I was blasting "Raspberry Beret" and thinking about how hilarious it would be if some slight fella I know (Kris Parra anyone?) dressed up in the yellow assless pants and went as Prince for Halloween. Then I thought about how he could have an entourage of women - all dressed as different Prince songs. I would request "Raspberry Beret" as it is almost the only Prince song I can stand (the other being "Kiss," otherwise, I kinda hate the little runt). This made me realize that there are Prince-heads, and then there are people like me who could take him or leave him. More like leave him. At a greyhound bus station in Albuquerque, his round little cheeks hanging out in the New Mexican sun.

Tonight, friends are having a party. I feel as though I won't be making it night 4 in the long journey entitled "Detoxification of Ms. Williams." In related news, the Mark Bar is starting a poker tournament! Finally! I've been waiting for a good bar to have a good round of poker for ages...

2005-08-05 | 1:30 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people