Not if you were the last Dandy on earth...

You know what I just realized? I realized that I had assigned myself the monumental task of researching the "Pentavirate" as per my agreement with Mike Myers and the Devil. Ok, well, as per my extreme boredom at work and my increased interest in "getting to the bottom of things." Anyway, I haven't completed this task yet! Will do for tomorrow. Or, rather -- do some more investigating.
So I've been watching "DiG!" these past two days, getting inside the weirdness known as The Dandy Warhols v. Brian Jonestown Massacre, and basically confusing myself in the process. Who knew these two bands were, first of all, worth a retrospective documentary already, and secondly, some sort of 60s revivalist revolution that began in 1995 and is still going on? This documentary makes them look, quite frankly, like Gods of the Underground, and I feel as though I got left back at the boondocks. Because the Dandys have apparently "made it" (sotospeak), they're grounds for no-drama based dismissal in the movie - the BJM is the focal point because of all the drinking, the drugging, the fighting, the cataclysmic Anton, and the eventual not-success suffered. The Dandys spot on here and there with their tours and a few video shots, but overall, the malaise of BJM is the highlight of the entire film. And to think that I've seen BJM live in Albuquerque and knew not a damn thing about them, and here they are, being touted by fellow drug-users as genius rock messiahs, delivering the message that was written in 1970 with a quill and a peasant blouse. I'm still very off and on about the whole experience, so maybe after a second viewing, I'll be able to decipher it later.
After the Pentavirate, of course.

2005-06-19 | 2:03 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people