Make a wish! It's 12.34! (These are the things you learn at Hobbs High)

1. My ass needs a good workout. Yeah - I know what you're thinking - you're thinking, Colleen, that's dirty. Why are you telling me this? Well, smartass - I'm writing in a diary. You're the perverted one for reading it. My innermost thoughts! For all the world to see!

2. I so need a job. Somebody, anybody - I need a job. I fear that through some sort of grammatical karma, I will not get a job until I stop using the hyphen all the time. I use the hyphen like it's goin' outta style. Seriously. I mean, come on now - haven't you noticed? (In related news, my roommate was telling me that my preoccupation with spelling and grammar are an extension of a superiority complex, which I find so interesting. Like, par example, I frequently receive messages on Friendster and MySpace with misspelled words, so I automatically write them off. I won't date or even meet up with someone who can't spell, right? Well - this is a primarily American or even Anglo-Saxon "disorder" [we'll call it] in which one is, in actuality, prejudice. It's not ok to not date someone due to their race, but it's ok to not date someone due to their inept spelling. Do you see the distinction? Anyway, I find it "so interesting" because there are so many parts of a personality that go left undiscovered. And this is just another manifestation of a western culture gone terribly awry - exhibit A: Connie Cobb.)

3. Is it bad that I find "Donnie Darko" incredibly sexy? I think it's because the director/writer R. Kelly (ha - I never noticed the abbreviated form is the same as the singer) captures such a perfect representation of adolescence. And that - known to all those that pillage jailbait - is incroyable sexy. It might also be that the music chosen is ridiculously emotive - "Head Over Heels" (Tears for Fears), "The Killing Moon" (Echo & the Bunnymen), "Never Tear Us Apart" (INXS), etc. Ok, ok, ok - and ALSO (I'll admit it), Jake Gyllenhaal is dreamy. There. I said it!

4. Finals are almost complete. And with this comes the following: * my ass needs a good workout and * I need a job. Wait - I mean, I have to do another final. It's online, though - so it shouldn't be too terrible. Hopefully. Oh God, I'm so failing classes this semester.

5. I dyed my hair and have noticed 2 things - people are smiling at me a lot more (brighter hair = more accepted in society) and people are staring at me a lot more (brighter hair = more attractive). Goddamn superficial idiots.

That's all that she wrote, mayne! Y'all keep it real. Hopefully tomorrow I won't stumble home at 8pm from the going-outs tonight. But if I do... I'm sure this diary will get an earfull.

2005-05-13 | 12:34 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people