Barry Hannah, Interviewed by Lacy Galbraith

From The Paris Review, Issue 172, Winter 2005:

INTERVIEWER
You�ve said you learned something from your drinking. Most people wouldn�t admit that, that it got them somewhere. What was it you learned?

HANNAH
It�s unfortunate that I learned something through booze. Everybody does, but ultimately on the level I was using, it was sickness. Jail, hospital, DUIs. Briefly it worked, to be frank, but that was on three beers and exactly where, if I was to appear on television today as a spokesman for anti-alcohol, I�d say, Listen, if you need more than three beers, worry.

INTERVIEWER
So it got your creativity going?

HANNAH
Right. Gosh, I hate to publish this, because young people will do anything it takes. But at first, yes. Teaching at Clemson was very hard work. I�d come home, put down the babies�and I was trying to be a good father and I think I was�but then that freedom, it was astonishing, my God. Every man or woman who comes home and takes a glass of wine or a couple of hits of bourbon on the rocks knows what I mean. Just this total loosening and release from the white noise of the day, so that you enter another zone. Instead of going to sleep I would hit the typewriter and sometimes write until four and teach my classes very haggardly. But I was often taught that everything is worth it for art. Everything. It was a cult. I remember Bill Harrison saying, �Don�t play with your child that much.� In other words, don�t be that good of a father. Get to that book. The ideal was Flaubert, who labored seven years on Madame Bovary and sweated out every word, le mot juste, the right word. So yeah, I learned things that way, but on the other hand I would have learned things had I been sober.

2005-04-17 | 8:19 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people