pgs. 48-49, THE Philosophy of Andy Warhol (From A to B and Back Again) by Andy Warhol

"The best love is not-to-think-about-it love. Some people can have sex and really let their minds go blank and fill up with sex; other people can never let their minds go blank and fill up with sex, so while they're having the sex, they're thinking, 'Can this really be me? Am I really doing this? This is very strange. Five minutes ago I wasn't doing this. In a little while I won't be doing it. What would Mom say? How did people ever think of doing this?' So the first type of person - the type that can let their minds go blank and fill up with sex and not-think-about-it - is better off. The other type has to find something else to relax with and get lost in. For me that something else is humor.
Funny people are the only people I ever get really interested in, because as soon as somebody isn't funny, they bore me. But if the big attraction for you is having somebody be funny, you run into a problem, because being funny is not being sexy, so in the end, near the moment of truth, you're not really attracted, you can't really 'do it.'
But I'd rather laugh in bed than do it. Get under the covers and crack jokes, I guess, is the best way. 'How am I doing?' 'Fine, that was very funny.' 'Wow, you were really funny tonight.'
If I went to a lady of the night, I'd probably pay her to tell me jokes."

2005-01-16 | 11:14 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people