Falafel

You see, I was prepared to come to a crossroads, but not the kind of confusion that seems to be manifesting itself in my brain, in my speech, in my stupid fashion illustrations due every Monday and Wednesday. Unfortunately, I have resorted to believing in pop-culture, oh hell - let's not mince words. I've talked myself into sticking it out at Parsons because of the words Mrs. Hastings from Strictly Ballroom says, "You stick to your goals and they bring their own rewards."

I know what you're thinking - did I miss the whole point of that movie? Did I not pay attention? I did pay attention - seen the damn thing 200 times - and I know, Scott was a renegade, a revolutionary in the world of ballroom dance. He didn't follow the rules and got the girl, changed the world of dance, and did what he really wanted to do. That is fine and dandy, but I think there is something to be said at the end of the day about the stickin-to-it. If Scott had continued along other people's dreams, he probably would have won the Pan Pacific Grand Prix- wait, no he wouldnt't have because Federation President Barry Fife had the thing rigged...

Ok, strike that. Let's analyze the phrase "you stick to your goals and they bring their own rewards." If I stick to my goal (original goal), I won't have to think about if I'm doing the right thing or the wrong thing. I frequently make the wrong decision - last weekend everyone wanted falafel, but did I order any? No. I sat there and watched them eat the falafel and felt sad because I was idiotic about it. This past weekend I thought it would be a good idea to go to a party after the Interpol concert and instead it was kinda too weird to really explain. You see, I FREQUENTLY make the wrong decision. I moved to New York, for Christ's sake.

But, either I have wasted $30,000 and will be put a whole year behind, or I stick to my goals & just get a friggin' degree from Parsons. It seems as though this is cut and dry, easy to take, get the hell on with my bad self, etc. etc.

I just don't want to feel like I wasted a very good opportunity. And Parsons is a good opportunity.

Isn't it? What would Scott do (WWSD)?

2004-12-03 | 6:39 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people