Everybody Hertz

If I could have theme music, you know - music that follows you around & plays as you walk into a room, etc. - it would be "La Femme d'Argent" (Air). And I would wear Chanel Gardenia, a black trenchcoat with d'Orsay open-toe heels, Jackie O. sunglasses and an orange Hermes scarf tied up in my hair. I would ride around in a silver reconditioned Karmann Ghia and smoke long cigarettes, laughing at my incessant addiction to coffee and chocolate-drizzled brioche. I would have read "Lolita" years ago, but a revisit to the novel would inspire the search to find the newest Russian ingenue. My bedroom would be red, my living room green, and I would have no interpersonal conflict, no arguments, no secretarial, menial labor during the day. I would take baths with Tocca candles and have international scandals in Havana. I would only wear rubies and know how to fix a car, chop down a tree, and catch a fish.

Dammit, if this is gonna happen, I have got to learn how to fix a car.

2004-03-08 | 9:12 a.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people