Ode to Ian

While I was driving back to work this fine afternoon, Craig David's "I'm Walking Away" or whatever that song is called, was on la radio, and I was instantly teleported back to the days when I didn't really know Ian & he had a shaved head. Now, as I do love the Schmeeds very much, I will try to put this in a nonoffensive way, although I'm sure it will definitely sound absurd and he'll probably take offense to it anyway. Among the many things I'd assumed from Ian's appearance, including the fact that I thought he might be Jewish (which he's not), I also decided that he reminded me, strangely, of Craig David. I think it was due to the eyes.

When I remembered this insanity about ten minutes ago, I giggled like a maniac. Ian looks nothing like Craig David, is not a Jew, and is exceedingly nice. When I would see him around campus, I thought - he must be pretty tough to get to know and is probably a little bit mean - just how I likes 'em! But, he's actually nice. And I like that better.

But damn - Craig David? What was I thinking?

2004-01-22 | 1:28 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people