Oh, sad sad day....

Today has been, shocking and disappointing all at once. I'll start with the bad news - a friend of mine from elementary, junior high, and high school was killed in a car accident on Saturday, which just shot this day into complete crap. She taught me how to electric slide, we ate gummy worms until our stomachs hurt, and I slept over the night I first held a boy's hand. She had these goofy glasses with a red wire rim bar connecting each frame. We would eat tons of Little Caesar's pizza because she lived right behind it, and we would play Mario Kart until our fingers were sore. I first drove with her, found out what a screwdriver was (the vodka & orange juice, not the tool), and learned all the words to "Shoop." I have pictures of us at every dance in junior high. We tried out for cheerleader and even made up our own cheers when we failed miserably. We were inseparable for a few years - but then we started to grow apart. But I saw her just two years ago and congratulated her on her wedding.

But Chicago this weekend was fantastic - although I would not have wanted to come back home to this. In order to shake it off - I saw Eliza and Peter get hitched, which was great! (If you're ever in the area, Ann Sathers makes a fantastic-o sticky bun, although reviews I've read online are different from our experience there) On Sunday, Schmeeds and I walked up and down Michigan Ave. and all the surrounding streets, he salivating in the Apple Store, and I salivating outside Gucci, Louis Vuitton, and Burberry (I was too chicken to go inside). I did drag Schmeeds into Neiman Marcus, and I looked at all the things I could never buy (Versace, Moschino, Gaultier, Sonya Rykiel, Lanvin, ohhhh!). We pounded the pavement for a good 4 hours before stopping and eating at the House of Blues Restaurant, which is where Fischerspooner was playing. Kenna opened, and he was just an amazing performer, but honestly, Fischerspooner was an intensely indulgent, trashy-glam, slutty, sexy, nerdy trendoid fest. I loved it. Personified dirty booty, hump-lovin grandiose foreign experience mixed in with modern dance and contrived beats. We left and walked to our hotel (Hotel Allegro), which was a beautiful, beautiful place, but we only enjoyed it from around 12.30AM to 4.30AM, since we had to hop a flight to Denver at 6.30AM. Thank God we made all our flights - we were flying standby, which is the most difficult, stressful way to fly, and I would never recommend it if you're going somewhere in demand (such as Chicago). My sister says flights to the West are usually better off (although, I'm sure Los Angeles would be just as big a pain in the ass). So we made it home yesterday at around 11AM, and I crashed until about 5. All in all, everything in Albuquerque is slow and boring, and I am so ready to hop ship.

Enough with this place - are you with me?

2003-10-07 | 2:48 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people