Is there nothing you'd not do with a drink in you?

So, here's an little anecdote - my mom says to me, "We should soak your foot - don't you want it to be all soft and pretty?" She starts getting a little footbath ready, to which I say, "No, that's ok." But she keeps pressing, preparing epsom salts and weird scenty girlie goodness.

"Come on - you should take good care of that foot."

"No, no. I don't want it to get soft."

"Why not? Don't you want to have pretty feet?"

At this point, I've escalated to the sheer panic zone. I'm not sure why. Suddenly I find myself shouting, "It can't get soft! I don't want the foot to get soft! It needs to stay calloused! It needs a big callous so that it won't get hurt again!"

To which my mom is staring at me, her mouth open, and my dad is looking at his feet, perplexed, furrowing his brow.

I left the room.

2005-08-31 | 3:16 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people