Pg. 2

It ws interesting how she'd ran into the restaurant before, looked around and, upon seeing no one she knew, skipped outside and immediately bought cigarettes. While the usual tendency had been to be chemically-altered, she had never considered the alternative. The normal.
She jogged up the stairs to the roof, where two friends from fashion school awaited the arrival of at least ten more people. She plopped down in a chair next to them, greeted them, and then opened her huge, Mary Poppins-sized black bag.
"Baby's first pack of cigarettes in five years."
"No! Colleen, no!" exclaimed Fabulous Man.
"Ah. I knew it. You said that they gave you a headache, but I knew you were a smoker," calmly reproached Straight Man.
"I'm not a smoker. I'm a quitter. This must mean something."
"Man problems?" queried FM.
"Something like that."
The waiter approached, she pointed to FM's drink and said, "Whatever he's having." It turned out to be a Mango Margarita.
Christmas lights were strung along about eight feet from the ground, umbrellas with a SoBe logo shielded the tops of their heads from the setting sun. It didn't smell like the city up here - it smelled like a raunchy Juarez bar, complete with tequila and the occassional waft-through of bleach and other antiseptics. Other friends drifted in, mostly girls, and the drinking began. Lindsay Lohan jokes were exchanged, the fountain in the center of the terrace broke and exploded water all over the empty roof, tacos were ordered, and further plans were made.
In the middle of the debauchery, a smoking break was taken by herself and SM.
"I hate that guy." (referring to the third fellow that had joined the party, who will remain unnamed)
"You do? I never talk to him."
"Yeah, he fucked me over in our Construction 2 class. I was up until all hours of the night trying to make a fucking jacket because he said he would help me and he told me how to do it wrong."
"Oh. Hm. I don't know him really. But these people are boring. I need to be completely wasted in order to feel comfortable."
"Yeah, I know. I'm going to finish my drink and go home. I have to be at work tomorrow by noon."
"Oh whatever. You're staying out."
"I am not staying out!" SM throws the butt of his cigarette to the ground.
"Oh yes you are. Either that, or I'm leaving when you leave." She stomps out her cigarette.

2005-05-25 | 3:24 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people