Creation/Destruction

You know, it is interesting that we, as a society (and I'm speaking of American society) love and indulge the fucked-upedness of others. In light of just watching Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and reading Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood and being who I am, it is very interesting how we love to read, see, and perhaps become a part of the experience that those who are not perfect go through. We are not interested in perfection, we (as a nation) wanted to see Martha Stewart fall (and now like her more because she did), we actually describe imperfection as "human." It makes us like people - I have on more than one occassion heard people describing true love as being in love with someone's faults. It's so odd, really. Physically, we should be flawless, but mentally and emotionally, throw on some baggage and a little drug problem - we'd love to have you. It's what makes rockstars, models, and celebrities so enthralling. Without some sort of emotional calamity, you're boring.
Not that I'm without this same affliction. I am closest to those that imbibe too much alcohol, spend too much money, maybe eat too much candy, forget to do their homework, have too much anonymous sex, hate themselves too much, love themselves too much. I guess I'm an extremist, and I choose my friends accordingly. It makes for great stories, and at the end of the day - isn't that what we're all here for?

2005-03-27 | 2:10 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people