Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield

I've been thinking about the psychological effects having poor eyesite has had on me. I know this sounds weird, but really - when am I normal, and when do I not ponder ridiculously odd things.
So, I got my first pair of glasses in 2nd grade - my parents blaming it on reading late at night next to a nightlight (which, studies have recently revealed, that reading in poor lighting does not actually damage your eyes). I was an avid reader of Sweet Valley Twins at that time, if you must know. Anyway, thus began the life of corrected-vision. It's really quite interesting - when I wear my glasses, I can't look up at people or, honestly, look them in the eye. I revert back to my idiotic 6th grade self - the dork in the glasses. On top of that, I think that certain tactical skills have been forfeited - such as depth perception and more three-dimensional activities (in my field, that means draping). I'm damn fine at 2-dimensionality. I can draw, I have admirable penmanship, and my personality is pretty 2-dimensional (ha!). But as for sculpting, driving a car, perhaps even showing these things Dr. Phil keeps talking about: "emotions" - might as well throw me in a paper bag and ask me to do it.
I'm going to think about this some more and come up with a snaggletooth conclusion that will blow all of us away. Just give me a little more time...

2005-03-12 | 11:17 a.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people