"See my love is asleep on the floor"

I am currently listening to some serious downer music - The Veils' The Runaway Found, specifically "Lavinia," "The Wild Son," and "Talk Down the Girl." Basically, this is suicidal tendency-music. No, not like Suicidal Tendencies, more like the theory of -- it's just so damn sad, like it's stuck in a black mourning gown in 1857, suffering from melancholia and consumption. Reviews have said that the lead singer, Finn Andrews (a New Zealander, recorded in London), has a voice like "daggers through honey" to which I say, "Why can't I write shit like that & get paid for it?"
So, in a week and a few days, I'm New York-bound again - contingent, that is, upon tuition bought & paid for in soul-sucking devil money (student loans, etc.). Then, in 2 months, I turn a 1/4 of a century. In 5 months, I may or may not graduate (again). In 6 months, I may or may not get a real job, or perhaps I'll shove all these delusions of grandeur down the toilet and traipse around the Irish countryside, eventually writing something brilliant, only to do myself in by joining the IRA, going mad, and wandering homeless around NYC, like Ms. Brennan.
Maybe I should listen to something else.

2005-01-14 | 1:48 p.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people