Monday after Birthday. (Also, Beware the Ides of March!)

So I did a hip-flexor movement that should be banned in all 50 states plus the district of Columbia, because I am walking like John Wayne today. You see, I started with the hip-flexor at the gym, thinking I was well-suited to pushing out 40 lbs. I had warmed up, cardio'd my ass off, and stretched - I should have been fine. Two days later, I feel like I need a hip replacement. And I look stupid.

My birthday was kinda lame. I made Beef & Guinness stew for everyone & a "Natural Vanilla" cake, and then we went downtown, which was just boring. The whole thing was just boring - which is exactly why I dislike birthdays. The expectation is just too large. Although I did receive lovely presents, thanks to Ian, Joe, Geneva, Camilla, my parents - the night I could have done with a bit more spice! A bit more - je ne sais quoi! A bit more - shakey-shakey!

Things learned on the big day:

1. Do not cut toenails after drinking alcohol.

2. Do not commit to making a stew on your birthday, because you will be exhausted.

3. Do not hip-flex.

4. Make sure there is something good to do, or do nothing at all. Expected disappointment is much better than surprised disappointment.

I guess it's time for lunch now, or petit dejeuner as the French like to say. Our fridge will remain broken until Thursday, so I'll have to find something un-cool to eat.

2004-03-15 | 11:47 a.m.

last entry :: next entry
50s people